For print only.

Roy Yang wins GRF election in District A

News photo by Dan Rosenstrauch
Roy Yang

By News staff


Friday, May 3 (9:30 a.m.): Roy Yang won by a large margin last week to become the new GRF Board director for District A.

Yang earned 162 votes to finish ahead of Diana St. James with 75 and Melanie Rose with 58 in the district. He replaces Carol Meehan, who was not seeking re-election.

Yang joins Ted Bentley in District C, Leanne Hamaji in District D and Cheryl Hines in District F, all of whom are incumbents who ran unopposed. Yang, Bentley and Hamaji will serve three-year terms. Hines was elected to fill out a term and will serve one year before being eligible for re-election.

All four directors will be seated on the Board at the Monday, May 13 Annual Meeting of the Members, which starts at 9:30 a.m. in Peacock Hall and will be livestreamed on Zoom.